Tags

Thank you Sarah’s Bookshelf for the nomination. 🙂

(a) What made you begin blogging?

After my graduation from the uni, I worked as a proofreader in a financial company.Thankfully, this occupation actually somehow developed my interests in literature and reading. Some time in 2012, I had finished some biographies about North Korean defectors. Those biographies involve heavy bits of geographical information and history which would be very useful if I jot them all down in a notebook; and after that I thought it would be great if I could also share the materials and book reviews on a website. I used to read bloggers’ post back then as well, and there was a beautiful blog that you could acquire all the information about Elizabeth Gaskell. It’s been three years already since I had written the first book review on my blog, and this is my favourite pastime apart from reading. However I do hope that my book reviews and the areas I’m exploring in the future would be more-in-depth as the experience accumulates in time.

(b) If you could explore the ocean or space, which one would you pick?

Ocean. What I could only think of at this moment is because I am never really a fan of the Star Wars franchise. I’m more into Finding Nemo and The Water Babies.

(c) What is the item that has the most sentimental meaning to you?

All the books by Roald Dahl. Because at the teenage years I had the feeling of wanting to collect all his works and get obsessed  in the illustrations by Quentin Blake and the English writing. I used to buy one of his works from the bookshop every weekend with my mates in town. The first book I was introduced by his was called The Witches from my mother; but my favourite one is The Boy and Going Solo. CDs are forms of personal attachment as well; songs are reminiscent of my personal journey.

(d) Dogs or cats?

Cats because I like witchcraft and mystifying subjects, especially the black ones. Also as I get older I tend to have preference for creatures who have a more reserved nature in expressing attachment and emotions.

(e) What was the last thing you ate?

Dinner at a Chinese restaurant. Winter melon soup. Dishes: Sweet and sour chicken with rice, and Vegetables in black bean sauce. Sweet mung bean soup as desert.

(f) What is your favourite quote?

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë – “The tyrant grinds down his slaves and they don’t turn against him; they crush those beneath them. You are welcome to torture me to death for your amusement, only allow me to amuse myself a little in the same style, and refrain from insult as much as you are able.” (I try to evade Wilkie Collins’s ones)

(g) What is your favourite place in the whole world?

The British Isles because I am fascinated with the architecture, history, traditions, cultures and eccentricities of this place. Although I like my home country as well, but the hustle and bustle irritates me sometimes. I’d also like to visit the Amish county someday.


These are my questions and I pass these on to you –

(1) What made you begin blogging?

(2) Does your family exert a great influence on your reading?

(3) Been travelling to anywhere solely because of books you had read?

(4) What are your favourite myth / fairytales / legends?

(5) What would you recommend me in contemporary fiction?


I would nominate –

enywulandari’s blog

I can’t think of anymore right now…thank you!

