Tags

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-014Big thanks to Kate at Kate Talks about Books for this nomination, how jolly wonderful! The title of the award is actually sisterhood/brotherhood of the world bloggers. The idea behind this award is to recognize the unique voices of woman & men in the blogging community.


Here are the rules for this award

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
  2. Put the Award logo on your blog.
  3. Answer the ten questions sent to you.
  4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Nominate ten blogs.

Here are my interesting questions posted by Kate, and hopefully some interesting answers of mine:

1. Do you always buy/borrow a novel based on the blurb?

WodehouseBlurbs are not the driving force for new books as I’m usually ignorant of the particulars who say them, except The Times and The Telegraph. For example, there’s a blurb on The Devil by the Marshalsea by Antonia Hodgson. Unfortunately, I didn’t know who Jeffery Deaver was when I bought it at one of the bookstores at the airport’s. On the other hand, cover and synopsis say a lot. However, I like the ones by Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie, and John Humphrys on Wodehouse’s novels published by Arrow Books:

  • “You don’t analyse such sunlit perfection, you just bask in its warmth and splendour.”  – Stephen Fry
  • “Funniest writer ever to put words on paper.” – Hugh Laurie
  • “It’s dangerous to use the word genius to describe a writer; but I’ll risk it with him.” – John Humphrys

On Non-fiction, my mind goes like a shooting arrow of what sorts of topics and titles I want to sink in before my eyes wander on the blurbs. I usually get on Amazon and Goodreads beforehand to check the reviews. They seem more accurate to me.

2. What’s the quickest time you have finished a book, and what was it?

The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins only took me three days to finish. It was really a long time ago; I do prefer reading in slow motion nowadays, to absorb its essence by jotting down inspiring quotes and useful bits on notebooks. As I tend to be very forgetful on things, and my unsettling thoughts might never know when I need them again!

3. Do you have a book you lent to someone and haven’t got back?

Fortunately, no-no! I think if you lend a book to someone and they still haven’t return it, it could be tragically that he/she still haven’t read it. If the borrower loves the book just as you do, he/she must have brought it up and start a small book club with you for couple of days onwards.

4. What is your usual reading genre?

Fiction and non-fiction on the nineteenth century. I’m not reading sensitively to all kinds of genres. Favourite authors of mine are usually safe havens in my reading habit. But I do want to inter-relate to more genres and authors when reading at bed-time and mix up my dreams a little bit. I might want to tackle more contemporary biographies, fantasies, or psychological thrillers in the coming months.

5. Do you have a favourite poem, or one which has really inspired you?

I don’t read poems very often, but lately it is Edgar Allan Poe’s Dream within a Dream, and some by Christian Rossetti and Emily DickinsonI would like to read Shakespeare’s sonnets in future.

6. Have you had a novel recommended to you, which you are really thankful for? What is it and whom was it recommended by?

There must be a lot of books recommended to me, as I appear to be an inquisitive and assiduous reader (really?); one of which is Affinity by Sarah Waters, quite a few classmates “introduced” to me with “contempt” (LOL) as I was the ignorant reader while joining a course on Wilkie Collins. They also said The Crimson Petal and the White by Michael Faber was a terrific read. Another one is Catcher in the Rye, recommended by a Dan Brown / Tolkien fan at work; as well as Godfather, introduced by a relative. Actually, there is another list of books I was fervently told to read:

IMG_20150204_192828-1

7. Would you buy a book you already own, just because of the cover?

I don’t have this predilection as yet, but those would probably be Wodehouse’s. I actually prefer Everyman’s hard-back version.

8. If you knew there was a movie coming out, that is also a book you wanted to read, would you see the movie first or..? Does it make a difference to you?

No, actually the movie adaptation would intrigue my interest to read the book. For example, I bought Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel, but haven’t started a page, neither have I watched the TV adaptation, but I probably go with the screen first. I hope they would make The Luminaries into a movie. I still haven’t read The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco and it’s driving me mad.

9. If you had to have a book character follow you around, be your best friend for a week who would it be and why?

Freddie Threepwood from Blandings as he’s got all the privileges. I think all characters from Wodehouse doing the disguise and theft! 😀 Boy and his family from Roald Dahl. They need to have cheery and eccentric dispositions.

10. What is the oldest book that you own?

IMG_20150516_132435-1


My questions are down below, and I nominate with & without consent of:

Kate Talks about Books

Charles Dickens

Poor, Obscure, Meek and Little

Awareness. Clarity. Expression


1) Do you read horror fiction?

2) Authors or genres you’d hope to visit and explore in future?

3) Any biographies you have read that truly inspire you?

4) Any females from fiction who truly inspire you?

5) Could you say if there are certain authors, genre, or era you’re extremely obsessed and fascinated with?

6) Are you a morning reader, bedtime reader, or a reader settled with anytime / anywhere?

7) What do you think of the word “well-read”? Are you more into book/genres that you think you want to specialized in, or books that people think you should read?

8) What are your favourite urban legends?

9) Are there any books, movies or shows that you have watched reminded you of some books you read before? 

10) Are there any writers who have passed away for some time and you would hope to meet?

Thank You and Enjoy! 🙂

