Tags

Liebster-award

Very obliged to be nominated by Kate at Kate Talks About Books, how jolly and encouraging! The idea behind this award is to promote new and obscure blogs, to help them gain followers and readers.


Here are the rules for this award

  1. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  2. Answer 11 questions from the individual who nominated you.
  3. Nominate 11 new bloggers (with under 200 followers) and come up with your own 11 questions. You cannot nominate the person who nominated you.
  4. Inform your nominee on being nominated.

Here are my interesting questions posted by Kate, and hopefully with interesting answers of mine:

1) If you could be transported into a book- which would it be and why?

EAAGALBlanding Castles books by P. G. Wodehouse are one of my favourites. There are characters and plots you’ll never be bored with and laugh at them like fire crackers. It would be fantastical if I could be one of the characters created by Wodehouse, lurking around the castle, doing disguise and mischief most of the time and hopefully wouldn’t be kicked out by Lord Emsworth in the end.

2) Kindle or hard copy?

I think hard copy if possible, though I’ve found most Wilkie Collins’s novels are free on Kindle App. It’s a grand procedure from first feeling the texture of a book cover (New Penguin Classics book cover has a funny texture; leather-bound ones are good; London Folio Society’s ones are beautiful) to knowing how thick or thin the book is.

3) What is your favourite fairy tale?

It is a hard question as I don’t know many fairy tales. Frog in the Well, Goldilocks and the Three Bears for its weirdness, or Robin Hood (if this is one). What is the motive behind Goldilocks and the Three Bears anyway? There is a non-fiction book recommended by Dan Stevens in The Happy Reader called Iron Man which analyses the meaning of the fairy tale in relation to modern society of masculinity development.

4) Have you ever wanted to write your own novel/piece? If so, what inspired you to start writing?

Yes if so I hope my future works would not be unimaginable or unintelligible in any way, but subtlety is required. If possible, I think my future piece contains superstitious and sepulchral elements to let imaginations run wild, or inspired by a phobia that one has. But I’d want to write essays rather than fiction at this moment, I like gathering information.

5) Is there a character you truly hate?

Wow I hope I could have read more before getting an answer. I think there is Geoffrey from Man and Wife by Wilkie Collins whom I dislike very much. He is incorrigible without that eccentricity that a villain has as in Wilkie’s works. All he endeavours to work on are his biceps and abdominal. Best supporting evidence of Wilkie Collins’s idea against Athleticism. (See Chapter XIX of this novel about this debate!) Also, there’s a novel I read recently called Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë, all characters, except her family members, the neighbours, and her love interest, are equally unlikable.

Souvenir_Guide_a8c28db3-2918-4013-bdc8-e6fec1185bbd_1024x10246) What is your favourite book? Why?

My favourite book is Leave it to Psmith by Wodehouse, according to its cheerfulness and gaiety. Concerning poignancy, Basil by Wilkie Collins. On funniness of the book, The Moaning of Life by Karl Pilkington, of good keeping or something I cherish very much, the Souvenir Guidebook published by Charles Dickens Museum and the one from Foundling Museum. In my childhood years, it’d be Heidi and Heart by Edmondo De Amicis.

7) Do you prefer reading short stories, poetry or novels?

I should have read more before answering this question. I always read novels but it’s good if I could get to read more poems and short stories. I find love poems by Emily Dickinson and Edgar Allen Poe’s and Christina Rossetti’s short poems are quite hitting me, so are some short stories by Poe (e.g. Black Cat, Premature Burial) and Roald Dahl’s. Long poems are daunting ones, the construction of rhythms, rhymes and selection of words in poems make them a pretty difficult task sometimes to patiently decode the meanings and interpret them, but I know the reward is no less overwhelming than novels and short stories. I always have recommendations so would get to read more soon.

8) If you could time travel, where would you go and why? (ok so, limited to book worlds)

I’m not interested in the future so probably visit the past in the nineteenth century. It is the time full of eccentricity and where everything begins! The opposition of Good and Evil, the New and the Old, Death and Murder, the popular serialized papers and all the good hullabaloo clashing together…if I were there I’d walk hundreds of miles to know and overlook the fascination and garden-like historic sites and accounts behind all these things; moreover, let see if the Neo-Victorian writers have done justice to the famous entities of the time.

9) What do you think about the idea of leaving books in public places for others to read? Would you do this?

I’m always eager to know what people reading in public spaces and rush back home to see the reviews on Amazon. Actually I found one book in hotel room some months ago written by Ian Rankin. I’d do this if I know the future recipient is aware of that author and is eager to read it. If there’s a book club or book exchange with people of congeniality, it is enjoyable.

10) Are your books well loved/dog eared and spine bent, or kept in pristine condition?

I keep the unread books in dusty condition and the read ones in a condition with worn-out spines. Highlighting and jotting down notes in books are also acceptable, and I’m not bothered to plastic cover them.

11) Have you ever had a book signed by the author? If so what was it? If not, who would you want to sign your book?

Haha! I know why you’d ask this question! Many I read have already popped the clogs! Probably Jodi Picoult cause I know she’s a talkative lady.


Although I’ve put up these questions for Kate to answer, because of the rules my plan is contrived but inaccessible. Perhaps I’ll ask her the other time.

But my fellow bloggers I hope I could get you shine! Would you like to answers my questions? My nominations are –

Yasmine Rose’s Book Blog

Bold and Bookish

D. L. Kamstra


1) Opening sentences of books that hook you right off from the first to the last page.

2) Authors or genres you’d hope to visit and explore in future?

3) Any biographies you have read that truly inspire you?

4) What is your favourite non-fiction?

5) Could you say if there are certain authors, genre, and era you’re extremely obsessed and fascinated with?

6) Are you a morning reader, bedtime reader, or reader settled with anytime/ anywhere?

7) Are there any places or bookshops you mainly go to in grabbing good books?

8) What is your favourite urban legends, or ones that scare you the most?

9) Are there any movies or shows that you recently watched and reminded you of some books you read before? (which then got you in a state of resonance/euphoria)

10 Anything you have written and hope to get them published someday?

11) Are there any conferences on books/authors you have gone recently, or hope to go in future?

12) Are there any writers who have passed away for some time and you would hope to meet?

Well, I have put up 12 questions, it may break the rules , but I find all of them indispensable!

