2014 is definitely a breakthrough of my life. From January to December, I had been trying out new things and embarking on brand new adventures, reuniting old and meeting new acquaintances. It has also been a year that I had ever known and appreciated myself.

From January to December, I went to see a stage performance (Horrible Histories: Terrible Tudors) on my own, got to Ocean Park and stroked a dolphin, watched some good movies (PhilomenaThe Invisible WomanMagic in the Moonlight, Gone Girl, Paddington…) at the cinema that I’ve ever experienced with thrilling emotions. I watched three musicals which all were spectacular shows and won’t be forgotten in a lifetime (The Book of Mormon, The Lion King, and The Phantom of the Opera). Participating in artistic workshops and activities (folk dance, life-drawing, sculptural painting, and five-rhythm dances), concerning self-exploration and spiritual reclamation of one’s own was also an eye-opener.

9780199536726

On reading, I finished 22 books this year, 4 being novels / short stories by Wilkie Collins (The Moonstone, The Law and the Lady, Man and Wife, and The Dream Woman) and 4 being Blandings Castle Series by P. G. Wodehouse (Summer Lightning, Something Fresh, Galahad at Blandings, and World of Blandings), all of which I admired very much and munched in pleasure and leisure.

IMG_20100102_012221

However, the most memorable and matchless event in 2014 that others could not be compared to for me is my embarking on a journey on my own to Cambridge to attend a weekend course on Wilkie Collins and sightseeing in London for good 10 days, which were the days I always will cherish. During the trip, I found myself much closer to the British culture and its people. I got accosted with both friendly locals and foreigners on streets and other places that I will always treasure. I first set out as a kind of homage to Wilkie Collins (you could say it as an excuse though; I hadn’t been returning to Britain for 7 years already and I miss the place so much!), and I didn’t expect the ramblings and other things I saw would overwhelm me so much! I hope some time or later I could return again to immerse about the places after reading more novels and history about the country!

