Dickens_The_Invisible_Woman

Charles Dickens is one of the greatest novelists of the Victorian Era. He arouses my interests in reading Literature and English novels as my pastime activities. He fascinates me in his writing of different themes and topics underpinning social injustice between classes and notoriety of authoritative institutions in his times. The settings that we always first encounter at the beginning of his novels are all intriguing as well as insightful. In Little Dorrit, we are drawn to a scene setting in Marshalsea Prison; in Our Mutual Friend, he depicts an underprivileged family’s living by digging up bodies in River Thames thereby earning their own bread; in Oliver Twist, it underlines the hardship and deprivation of children living in workhouses; in Hard Times and Nicholas Nickleby, they satirically deal with the pedagogues/brainwashed regime of education institutions; especially in Nicholas Nickleby, it was my first time that I found myself so ingrained in reading a classic. The length and breadth of describing the teaching methods (for instance, spelling lesson on the word “cleaning”) of Mr. Squire was peerless, and my acquaintance of Poor Smike gave me great abundance of compassion. Since then I have come across several novels of his, and my favourite is Dombey and Son and The Pickwick Papers (Pickwick Papers stands my favourite as including so many paranormal short stories told in pubs!) . Although I am not a thorough reader of Dickens (still finding his novels always difficult to read), and still have Bleak House untackled, I still have lots of interest in his works, the period that he live in, and especially stories that happened in his lifetime. Therefore last year I got myself this biography – The Invisible Woman – telling the anecdotes and famous secret affair with a young lady who was 27 years his junior: Nelly Ternan, and it was a surprise read: unexceptionably enjoyable and engaging. However there are so much information for me to absorb and digest, so I have jotted down bits and bobs of the story which is rather lengthy. Here you go!

